We all have a story. Either bad, good, easy or challenging. There has been something in our life that has put us where we are right here and right now.

I sit and reflect where I am and I’m struggling but I am happy. A year ago I was lost. Two years ago I was hurt. I can describe all the emotions I felt and it still makes me scared to think back of the situations that were happening.

You know…the amazing part of this was the support and stories I heard that pushed me to want even better.

I could have easily just threw the flag and just throw everything down the drain but I was able to grab a hold with the guidance of my boyfriend ..to see that although there was pain the best thing is to get up and make it a reason to want more.

I can think back to when I was in high school how much I wanted to play a different sport…I was told I couldn’t. I wanted to go to my dream University in Hawaii but I was told I would have my family to visit me or help me come home to visit. I can remember the moments of happiness turned down because there was no response.. I remember the yelling I went through just because it my first boyfriend and not in my race. I was told I didn’t do anything for this family…I was told I am selfish..I was a bitch..

At 21 years old I was going to school full time and working full time. I didn’t drink.. I didn’t do drugs…I didn’t have social media…but I was still told how selfish I was even tho I would take my brother to school everyday.. I would help my siblings whenever they would ask…I would help my grandma who was at a nursing home EVERY Tuesday…

But I was still a selfish bitch…

To top it off it was the person I looked up to as my hero and my safe zone.. my dad.

I have old journals when I would write of frustration. I could have let that all make me so rebellious.. I could have been such a horrible person but I work with kids and I just want to stop it from happening. Please don’t tell your kids that… love them.

They are so sensitive… they just want your approval that they are amazing. Forget if a teacher or friend an aunt or stranger…I want my dad to hear me and say how proud of my work he is…not just say it because it’s his job but actually mean it..

The day he said I wanted to be a teacher I went off…I was pissed and I admit it I told him thank you for knowing your daughter so well..

If he listened to me he would know I wanted to be an Occupational Therapist.

I didn’t think that would have such an impact in me but it did. I just wanted him to be MY DAD.

Life took over… true colors began to burst..reality begins to hit.

Working with Special Needs and just kids and teens in general has been so soothing…sometimes these kids just talk so much in class when they aren’t supposed to because the teacher is teaching something but that kid just wants SOMEBODY to hear them.

Or when I am working with the kids with special needs especially non verbal I feel as if one point in my life I could relate…that’s why I try to help them succeed in all their goals even the tiniest things you would never think of.

It’s always those damn little things…

I went to a Mental First aid Training and we followed a story of a young man who was diagnosed with Schizophrenia. He shared his story how the voice in his head kept bothering him and all he could think of is to jump off the bridge. He felt so much but he then shared how he wanted somebody and that somebody was his dad to just say “Hi hows your day… or how are you doing.”

This young man said if his dad were to have asked him that or even say hi he would have just opened up and said everything and not think of jumping off..

His dad then walked in and said don’t forget the trash.

The young man jumped off thinking he would not live but instead he did live and that voice left his head… but remained paralyzed for the rest of his life.. which he was able to share that story.

These are one of the reason why I smile at everyone and say hi how are you..have a great day..

You never know…that person who just cut you off maybe they had a death and you just never know…that person who bumped into you they might have got fired or SOMETHING…I always share with my youngest brother to always share his smile as its so contagious. Somebody may just need a smile to have a better day…

Share YOUR smile… text/call somebody you haven’t in a while..make a difference

Have an amazing day πŸ™‚

